79 F Clouds
Friday, Feb 23 2024, 08:38 PM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

Omicron means Cuba increases virus rules

Regional 03 Jan, 2022 Follow News

Cuba has reset its Covid protocols

Any Cayman Islands residents intending to visit Cuba in the near future should be aware of new COVID-19 protocols from 5 January.

As virus cases began to rise in recent days, Cuba’s official media announced new rules for travellers arriving to the island from Wednesday.

Given the appearance in other countries of a new variant, Omicron, Cuba has decided that all international travellers must meet the following requirements upon entering the country:

• Present a complete vaccination certificate. The only exception to this measure are children aged 12 years or younger, or a person who has a certified medical condition that prevents the vaccination.

• The negative result of a PCR test carried out a maximum of 72 hours prior to travel. Travelers from South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia, Malawi and Eswatini (formerly Swaziland), in addition to the stated requirements must also adhere to other protocols.

All new arrivals in Cuba need medical insurance that includes COVID-19 coverage. Random checks are made. Visitors to Cuba also need to present a tourist card which is usually included in the cost of a flight ticket and is given out an hour or so before landing. Two additional paper forms are given out on the airplane: a COVID-19 health questionnaire and a customs form, both of which have to be handed in to customs officials on the ground.

From 1 January, Cuba simplified its arrival process with a new online form called D’Viajeros which amalgamates the immigration and health forms in a digital format. You will be able to fill out the information up to 72 hours before arrival and will receive a QR code in return.

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs