86 F Clouds
Monday, Jul 15 2024, 07:42 PM
Close Ad
Back To Listing


Front Pages 16 Apr, 2021 Follow News


Less than a day after a new government was announced - just hours after Wednesday’s election, another post-election shocker that has sent tremors throughout the Caymanian society.

That pact has now disintegrated and the leader of the Progressives/Independents Alliance Roy McTaggart announced early on Friday morning that this party now has enough support to form the next government.

In a statement whose brevity is only matched by its impact, Mr McTaggart wrote:

“I am pleased to confirm that we have an agreement with 10 elected members to form the Government and to elect me as Premier.

“This will allow the country to have a stable Government and continuity as we address the rebuilding from Covid.”

The new agreement signed by ten MPs now includes new independent MPs - Sabrina Turner(Prospect) and Isaac Rankine(East End) who have joined the seven victorious Progressives MPs and Independent Alliance member Dwayne Seymour (Bodden Town East).

Sabrina Turner and Isaac Rankine were signatories to a pact with nine other MPs to form the next government to be led by Wayne Panton

It was widely expected that the narrow outcome of the election would have resulted in serious and intricate negotiations to form the next government.

The Progressives which led the last governing coalition had secured 8 of the 19 seats in a joint campaign with the Independents Alliance.

Once again, as happened in the 2017 election, the independent candidates walked away with the majority of the seats.

Just hours after the election, in a development that surprised many political observers and others due to the quick decision, it was confirmed that a coalition of independents led by Wayne Panton and including Sabrina Turner and Isaac Rankine had signed a pact to form the next government.

That agreement referred to the coalition as the PACT (People-driven, Accountable, Competent and Transparent).

That agreement was already signed off by HE Governor Martyn Roper as part of the constitutional provision that Mr Panton at that time had the majority of support among the elated MPs to form the next government.

A statement on Thursday afternoon from the Governor’s Office had confirmed that “newly elected candidate from the Newlands electoral district, Mr Wayne Panton met with His Excellency the Governor, Mr Martyn Roper at the Governor’s Office today, Thursday, 15 April 2021.”

It said: “Mr Panton presented to the Governor his letter confirming that he has the support of the majority of the elected candidates who were successful in yesterday’s General Election to Parliament and that he intends to form the new Government.”

With this morning’s surprise development, it is expected that a new statement confirming the new Progressives-led government will now be forthcoming from the Governor’s Office.

That statement could come as early as today.

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs