82 F Rain
Wednesday, May 22 2024, 02:23 AM
Close Ad
Back To Listing


Government 01 Jul, 2021 1 Comments Follow News


By Staff Writer

Sweeping changes have been made to the composition of two prominent government boards.

The PACT(People-driven, Accountable, Competent and Transparent) coalition Cabinet has overhauled the board membership of the Central Planning Authority(CPA) and the National Roads Authority(NRA).

The changes on the CPA in particular reflect a commitment by Hon. Premier Wayne Panton to diversify the boards with the inclusion of more women.

He recently referred to a review which he said has shown that previous and current membership of government-appointed bodies "is not equitable in terms of gender representation."

"We have a tremendous opportunity to create a new normal; one in which women are equally represented at some of the highest levels of decision making in our Islands,” the Premier stated.

In that vein, five of the members of the new CPA board are now women.

The new 14-member board which makes key decisions on approving development projects and other aspects of the built infrastructure has been almost completely overhauled and comprises 12 new members.

Ian Pairaudeau has assumed the role of chairman replacing longstanding predecessor A.L. Thompson with Handel Whittaker replacing Robert Watler Jr. as deputy chairman.

The four female members are; Christine Maltman, Celecia Bancroft, Shakina Bush and Danette McLaughlin.

Gillard McLaughlin, Joshua Bernard, Charles Russell Jr, Kenneth Ebanks, Windel Scott and Peter Campbell are the other new faces with Ashton Bodden, the only returning member from the previous board,

Previous CPA members were Alfred L. Thompson as chairman, Robert Walter Jr - deputy chairman, Kris Bergstrom, Peterkin Berry, Ashton Bodden, Roland Bodden, Joseph Coe, Ray Hydes, Jaron Leslie, Trent McCoy, Selvin Richardson, Fred Whittaker, Christina McTaggart-Pineda - the sole female member then, and Haroon Pandohie, the Director of Planning.

The appointment term for the new CPA board members is two years.

On its website, the CPA describes its role as determining whether to support or not support an application for Development and dictates any conditions of approval if applicable based on reviews and recommendations provided by the Department of Planning and other Government Agencies.

The CPA is at the core of decision-making in the fine balance between development and sustainability in the Cayman Islands.

Meanwhile, a new board has been installed for the National Roads Authority.

It has a new chairman in the person of Alric Lindsey and includes six other new faces on the 11-member board.

Other members are; Stanley Panton - Deputy Director, Kelvin Dixon, Barry Martinez, Troy Whittaker, Anna Peccarino, Heidi Hunte-Webster, with Paul Andrew Bodden Jr (Andy), and Dane Walton as reappointments.

Also on the NRA board as the Chief Officer or designate and the Financial Secretary or designate.

Their appointments are for three years except for Ms Peccarino who will serve one year.

The NRA states its mission as contributing to sustainable transport and land development in the Cayman Islands by building and maintaining a safe and efficient network of roads.

It has a massive task on its hands in unclogging the gridlock on Cayman’s congested road network which has been a recurring complaint.#caymaniantimes

Comments (1)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs


02 Jul, 2021

Well done