86 F Clouds
Friday, Jul 19 2024, 10:38 PM
Close Ad
Back To Listing


Local News 07 May, 2021 Follow News


New appointments have been made at the Commission for Standards in Public Life (CSPL).

HE Governor Martyn Roper has announced that the oversight body will now be chaired by attorney-at-law Sonia Bush who succeeds Rosie Whittaker-Myles.

Other new members are; accountant Rosalie Twohey, retired lawyer Richard Addlestone and finance sector expert Keith Blake. They will join existing member Isatou Smith who was been with the Commission since November 2018.

CPSL appointments are for a four-year term.

According to a government statement, the work of the Commission has led to the long-awaited Standards in Public Life Act and Regulations, an important step forward for good governance for the Cayman Islands.

“I would like to thank Mrs. Whittaker-Myles and Ms. Hislop for their time, dedication and valuable contributions to the CSPL. I would like to especially thank Mrs. Whittaker-Myles for her guidance and leadership during her tenure,” The Governor said in the statement.

The Commission for Standards in Public Life(CSPL) is an independent body enshrined in the Constitution to enhance democracy in the Cayman Islands and ensure that there is sufficient oversight of the public sector.

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs