82 F Rain
Wednesday, May 22 2024, 04:00 AM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

Dominica calm again after elections

Regional 16 Dec, 2019 Follow News

Dominica calm again after elections

Dominica is peaceful once more with no civil disorder following its general elections on Dec. 6.

Leading up to the elections, the Dominican government reported incidents of civil disobedience, primarily in the villages of Marigot in the northeast, and Salisbury in the west. These disturbances resulted in road blockages, which caused delays for visitors travelling to the airport. Cruise calls into Dominica were also cancelled until Dec. 8.

After the citizens of Dominica went to the polls, the Dominica Labour Party won a resounding victory over the opposition. The elections were conducted peacefully and without any disturbance.

The DLP led by Prime Minister Roosevelt Skerrit won an unprecedented fifth term in general elections following weeks of protest and court battles which ended on the eve of the elections with the court of appeal upholding the decision of the high court judge not to grant an injunction to stop the elections.

The DLP won 18 of the 21 seats in the island’s parliament with the wife of the Prime Minister Melissia Skerrit comfortably winning the Roseau Central seat which has been a stronghold of the United Workers Party.

Joseph Isaac previously held that seat for the UWP but crossed the floor to the DLP and was made a government minister. He contested the Roseau North seat for the DLP but lost.

Among the casualties for the opposition UWP was its deputy leader Joshua Francis who lost his Roseau South seat to newcomer Cherika Lockhart Hypolite. The UWP held six seats before the last general elections and the DLP 15.

Supporters of the DLP took to the streets in jubilation as they celebrated their party’s victory.

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs