90 F Clouds
Friday, Jun 14 2024, 01:14 PM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

Nominations Deadline Extended for National Arts and Culture Awards

Community Notices 30 Oct, 2019 Follow News

Nominations Deadline Extended for National Arts and Culture Awards

The nominations deadline for the Cayman National Cultural Foundation’s 26th Annual National Arts and Culture Awards has been extended until Thursday, 7 November.

The National Arts and Culture Awards recognises those who have made a significant contribution to arts and culture; achieved a high-quality body of creative work; or who have supported the work of CNCF. Each year CNCF recognises the arts and culture honourees at an elegant awards ceremony. Presentations are also made to the Volunteer of the Year, Sponsor of the Year and the winner of the Chairman’s Award for outstanding long-term support of CNCF’s work.

Nominations are open from cultural and heritage organisations as well as from the general public. Arts organisations may submit nominations for the CNCF Star for Creativity in the Arts in their particular disciplines. The general public can make nominations for the CNCF Heritage Cross. Posthumous nominations can also be considered.

The CNCF Heritage Cross is reserved for individuals and groups who have a consistent and active, quality engagement in the preservation and/or celebration of Caymanian cultural heritage. The award has three levels: GOLD for a lifetime of high-quality engagement; SILVER (minimum of 10 years) and BRONZE (minimum of 5 years).

The CNCF Star for Creativity in the Arts is awarded for artistic endeavour, achievement and excellence in the arts. Like the Heritage Cross, the Star for Creativity also has three levels reflecting the span of the artist’s work and/or its overall impact.

For work that covers a shorter period or to recognise other achievements that contribute measurably to the preservation and /or celebration of Caymanian art and culture, the Creativity in the Arts Certificate is awarded.

The deadline for submission of nominations has been extended to 7 November. The awards ceremony will take place on Thursday 20 February 2020, during the month long “Cayfest” festival of the arts.

Nominations can be made online at artscayman.org. A copy of the nomination form is also available from the CNCF Office during normal working hours: 2nd Floor, in the building directly behind the Harquail Theatre at the F.J. Harquail Cultural Centre, 17 Harquail Drive (Phone: 949-5477).

Last year’s recipients were:


Gold Heritage Cross

Melvin Augustine (posthumous)

Maxine & Maureen Bodden

The Crighton Family


Silver Heritage Cross

Annie Rose Scott

Elvie Lizabeth Walton-Thompson


Bronze Heritage Cross

Keino Daley


Gold Star for Creativity

Rita Estevanovich

Earl LaPierre

Joanne Sibley

Janet Walker


Bronze Star for Creativity

Jawara Alleyne

Melisha McField

Isy Obi


Chairman’s Award

Winston Salmon


Volunteer’s Award

Rebecca Wick

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs