91 F Clouds
Tuesday, May 28 2024, 03:04 PM
Close Ad
Back To Listing


Front Pages 19 Apr, 2021 Follow News



The PACT group of Independents has released an updated 10-member list of MPs giving it a majority to form the next coalition government.

Crucially it includes Speaker of Parliament McKeeva Bush who many of the

MPs-elect were adamant during the campaign that they would not be part of a government with him.

This also means that Alric Lindsay originally named as Speaker by the PACT group

The coalition has named six ministers although portfolios have not been assigned.

Premier-designate Wayne Panton and Deputy Premier-designate Chris Saunders have not been assigned to any specific portfolio assignments beyond the constitutional ambits of the posts they will assume in their government.

In a statement, the group said, “Over the past weekend, the PACT Independent Group had several discussions regarding the composition of Cabinet and the following was agreed:

- Premier – G. Wayne Panton, MP Elect, Newlands

- Deputy Premier – Christopher Saunders, MP Elect, Bodden Town West

- Minister – Kenneth V. Bryan, MP Elect, George Town Central

- Minister – Sabrina Turner, MP Elect, Prospect

- Minister – Andre M. Ebanks, MP Elect, West Bay South

- Minister – Katherine Ebanks-Wilks, MP Elect, West Bay Central

- Minister – Johany S. “Jay” Ebanks, MP Elect, North Side

- Minister – Bernie A. Bush, MP Elect, West Bay North

The PACT Independent Group also agreed that: -

Heather D. Bodden, MP Elect, Savannah will serve as a Parliamentary Secretary, and W. Mckeeva Bush will serve as Speaker.

Premier Designate, G. Wayne Panton stated: “I am humbled to be leading a team with such diverse backgrounds which reflects a mix of political experience and youthful energy. It is clear from the electorate that they wanted the torch pass to the next generation, and I am honoured to be at the helm of such a transition in our history.”

He also offered his gratitude to the outgoing administration and former legislators saying:

“I want to thank Premier Mclaughlin and his team for their service to our islands as public service is still a noble calling. I also want to use this opportunity to thank the other Parliamentarians who also served our islands over the past 4 years but were unsuccessful at the polls. In their contributions, they have left their fingerprints on the development of our islands.”

Mr Panton, also offered his gratitude to long-time Member of Parliament, Anthony S. Eden and concluded by saying:

“My team wants me to recognize the contributions of Mr. Tony as a legislator for almost 3 decades. His unbroken service to the People of Bodden Town, Savannah, and Newlands is testament to his commitment to public service and I wish him well in his retirement. I want to thank his family for sharing some of the best years of his life with us and we are forever in their debt.”

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs