90 F Clouds
Thursday, Jun 20 2024, 03:03 PM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

Cayman Brac students win Spelling Bee

Local News 30 Nov, 2020 Follow News

2020 Spelling Bee Secondary School Champion Tabitha Giscombe

2020 Spelling Bee participants, left to right: Alex Curnock, CIS; Wilmer Gonzalez, CHHS; Jordan Cummings, JGHS; winner Tabitha Giscombe, LSHS; joint third place winner Diego Myles, CBCA; Henry Peedom,

2020 Top secondary school spellers (l-r) Suwayne Young-Watson (1st runner up), Tabitha Giscombe (1st place), Garson Gardiner and Diego Myles (2nd runners up)

Two young ladies, Tabitha Giscombe and Suwayne Young-Watson, from Layman E. Scott Snr High School on Cayman Brac, took first and second place respectively at this year’s Spelling Bee competition, with a draw for third place between Diego Myles from Calvary Baptist Christian Academy and Garson Gardiner from John Gray High School.

This year’s slightly scaled down event took place last Wednesday at the Lion’s Centre Hall and was the 37th Annual Lion's Club of Grand Cayman Secondary Spelling Bee competition, which has partnered with the Department of Education Services for the past 22 years.

The competition welcomes students from public and private secondary schools across the Cayman Islands and participating schools this year were Clifton Hunter High School, John Gray High School, Layman E. Scott Snr. High School, Calvary Baptist Christian Academy and Cayman International School.

Master of ceremonies for the occasion, Gloria Bell, Acting Customer Services Manager Department of Education Services, said usually they had around 12 schools competing every year. This year, which had obviously been an abnormal year, only saw 11 students participating from five schools. Initially they had six schools with 13 competitors but two students and one school had to withdraw. Never-the-less, Ms Bell said she thanked God for the resilience of the schools and the students who managed to participate in this difficult year. She outlined that schools usually had their own competitions so they could choose who the finalists for this competition would be. The first prize winner this year received a laptop, along with medals, a cup and certificates and a gift basket from the DOT, while the runners up got tablets as well as medals, cups and certificates. Mr Elroy Bryan, Senior School Improvement Officer for Special Needs with the DES, gave a welcome speech and said that all participants were winners to get thus far in the competition.

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs