90 F Clouds
Thursday, May 30 2024, 02:49 PM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

Cayman Prep Girls triumph in Cricket Rally

Sports 31 May, 2022 Follow News

Cayman Prep 1 (batting) defeated Cayman Prep 3 to win the 2022 Inter-Primary Girls Under-11 Rally.

The young ladies from Cayman Prep 1 were crowned 2022 Inter-Primary Girls Under-11 Cricket Rally champions on Wednesday, May 25 at the Truman Bodden Sports Complex as they defeated their school mates Cayman Prep 3 46 runs to 32 runs in an exciting, well-contested final.

In the third-place game, Sir John A. Cumber Primary School got the better of Cayman Prep 2 by a score of 29 runs to 25 runs.

The Girls Rally included 17 teams from a majority of elementary/primary schools including three teams from Cayman Prep, Cayman Academy and Cayman International School respectively and one team from Sir John A. Cumber Primary, Red Bay Primary, St. Ignatius Catholic, Edna Moyle Primary, East End Primary, Joanna Clarke Primary and Theoline L. McCoy Primary. The Rally was a 6-A-Side, six over tournament with each school playing a minimum of four games.


2022 Inter-Primary Cricket Competition

Round 4 of the 2022 Inter-Primary Cricket Competition continued on Friday, May 27 as several schools took to the field at venues across the Island.

In Zone A, St. Ignatius Catholic defeated Joanna Clarke Primary 53 runs to 52 runs to retain the top spot in the standings. The two other matches between Cayman Prep B vs. Edna Moyle Primary and Prospect Primary vs. Theoline L. McCoy Primary were postponed and will be re-scheduled. East End Primary were not scheduled to play.

In Zone B, Cayman Prep A got past Red Bay Primary 114 runs to 64 runs to remain undefeated and the ‘team to beat’ in Zone B. Cayman Academy outlasted Cayman International School 54 runs to 53 runs and George Town Primary beat Sir John A. Cumber Primary 63 runs to 62 runs.

The 2022 regular season continues this Thursday, June 2 (Friday, June 3 is a Public Holiday) with Round 5 games including, in Zone A, Edna Moyle Primary vs. Joanna Clarke Primary (at Edna Moyle Primary), Cayman Prep B vs. Theoline L. McCoy Primary (at Cayman Prep) and St. Ignatius Catholic vs. East End Primary (at the Annex Field). Prospect Primary are not scheduled to play.

In Zone B, it’s Cayman International School vs. Cayman Prep A (at Cayman International School), Sir John A. Cumber Primary vs. Red Bay Primary (at Sir John A. Cumber Primary) and Cayman Academy vs. George Town Primary (at the Annex Field).

The Inter-Primary Cricket Competition is organised and coordinated by the Department of Education Services and the Department of Sports and sponsored by CUC and the Cayman Cricket Association.

Parents and supporters are encouraged to come out and cheer on our young cricketers.

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs