80 F Clouds
Thursday, Jul 18 2024, 05:26 AM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

CIIPA honours Caymanian degree earners at 13th-annual Awards Gala

Front Pages 31 May, 2022 Follow News

Master’s Degree honourees pose with their awards Saturday night (28 May) at the 13th-annual Cayman Islands Institute of Professional Accountants Awards Gala. Photo – Maggie Jackson/CIIPA

Bachelor’s Degree honourees pose with their awards Saturday night (28 May) at the 13th-annual Cayman Islands Institute of Professional Accountants Awards Gala. Photo – Maggie Jackson/CIIPA

Cayman Islands Institute of Professional Accountants (CIIPA) President Rennie Khan delivers his speech Saturday night (28 May) at the 13th-annual CIIPA Awards Gala. Photo – Maggie Jackson/CIIPA

Government leaders and accounting professionals came together to laud Caymanians who have reached key milestones in their respective accounting careers Saturday (28 May) at the Cayman Islands Institute of Professional Accountants (CIIPA) Awards Gala, held at the Kimpton Seafire Resort.

Forty-five Caymanians were honoured throughout the evening, including 35 who earned a bachelor’s degree and 10 who earned a master’s degree.

“It’s no stretch to say that accountants in the 21st century are tasked in many ways with helping save the planet… or at the very least play a crucial role making this a better world to live in,” said CIIPA President Rennie Khan, referring to the important role accountants play in matters relating to sustainable business practices and enhanced due diligence resulting from Russia and Belarus sanctions regimes. “Long gone are the days where accountants are primarily concerned with bookkeeping and preparing financial documents. Accountants are no longer behind-the-scenes players in the workplace. But rather they are driving forces that research, collect, analyze and advise.”

His Excellency Governor Martyn Roper, Premier Hon. Wayne Panton, Deputy Premier and Minister for Finance and Economic Development Hon. Christopher Saunders, Opposition Leader Hon. Roy McTaggart and Attorney General Hon. Samuel Bulgin were each on hand to congratulate the award recipients, many of whom indicated they planned on pursuing their professional designation or otherwise continue their professional development.

“It feels really good to get up there and be honoured in front of the partners of the firm,” said Deloitte’s Piers Davies, who was recognised for earning both his bachelor’s and master’s degrees.

“Accounting offers a wide range of industries that you can look into so there’s never really a dull moment. You switch from a hedge fund-based client to an insurance client to then going into an operating company. It’s just a different thing every day.”

Those honoured for earning their bachelor’s degree included: Aaron Fernandes, Alyssa McLaughlin, Carrie McLaughlin, Denry Howell, Derricka Neysmith, Errol Simms, Estefhany Rivers, Eva McLean, Germaine Ebanks, Indira McLaughlin, Jenna Alpuche, Joel Gayle, John Carlo Ow, Jonathan Walmsley, Jordon Williams, Jose Vasquez, Kevin Weber, Kimberly Dawson, Kireen Morris, Kirk Foster, Leyla Padilla Arcon, Lisa Royal, Lissette Carter, Luca Polloni, Lucas Byrnes, Mariah Webb, Mikhalia Byndloss, Ninna Bodden, Piers Davies, Rajiv Jaggernath, Shantae Hamilton, Steve Miller, Tramaine Roper and Yolanda Paredes-Arias.

Master’s degree honourees included: Brittany Scott, Daniel Burns, Francella Martin, Jonathan Walmsley, Max Pairaudeau, Piers Davies, Rochel Gardener, Ryan Barnett, Selena Ross and Simon Butler.

The event marked the first of two CIIPA Awards Galas scheduled for 2022 as the gala had been postponed and rescheduled in 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic. The second gala is slated to be held in September and will honour Caymanians who have earned their professional designation, and those who complete their bachelor’s and master’s degrees this year.

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs