82 F Clouds
Saturday, Feb 24 2024, 10:35 AM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

Grand Court Session Formally Opens

Government 17 Jan, 2022 Follow News

The Chief Justice, Hon. Anthony Smellie inspects the RCIPS presented Guard of Honour, as part of the formal opening ceremony of the Grand Court (Photos by Bina Mani, GIS)

His Excellency the Governor, Mr. Martyn Roper arrives at the formal opening of the Grand Court

(L-R) Minister Hon. Johany Jay Ebanks, Deputy Premier Hon. Chris Saunders, Minister Hon. Sabrina Turner, Premier Hon. Wayne Panton and Attorney General Hon. Samuel Bulgin at the opening ceremony

The Chief Justice, Hon. Anthony Smellie, QC, with other Grand Court Justices behind him, receives the Royal Salute from the contingent of Royal Cayman Islands Police Service officers, as part of the ceremony today, Wednesday, 12 January 2022, to formally

Following a ceremonial inspection of an honour guard by an RCIPS contingent, the Chief Justice, Hon. Anthony Smellie, QC, accepted a motion on Wednesday to formally open the Grand Court of the Cayman Islands.

In attendance at the ceremony were His Excellency the Governor, Mr. Martyn Roper, Premier and former practising attorney, Hon. Wayne Panton, Deputy Premier Hon. Chris Saunders, Ministers Hon. Sabrina Turner, Hon. Johany Jay Ebanks and Hon. Andre Ebanks, as well as Parliamentary Secretary Ms Heather Bodden.

Wednesday’s ceremony differed from previous years because of the use of actual and virtual presentations, all of which were live-streamed for the first time in deference to COVID-19 protocols.

It was also mentioned that this might be the last formal opening for the Chief Justice who, after taking office in 1998, is currently the longest serving Chief Justice in the Cayman Islands and is scheduled to retire in the last quarter of 2022.

The Chief Justice accepted the motion made by the CI Attorney General, Hon. Samuel Bulgin. Seconding the motion were Acting Director of Public Prosecutions, Ms Candia James-Malcolm, CI Legal Practitioners Association President, Mr. Erik Bodden and Member of the CI Law Reports Committee, Mr. Colin McKie.

Chief Magistrate Hon. Valdis Foldats, Judicial Administrator and Chief Officer, Ms Suzanne Bothwell, Deputy Chief Officer, Ms Natasha Scotland, Chief Financial Officer Ms Tiffany Ebanks, Legal Aid Director Ms Stacy Parke, Clerk of Court Ms Shiona Allenger and Deputy Clerk of Court Ms Cecille Collins presented the virtual reports.

Eventually, all of the presentations will be posted on to the www.judicial.ky website. Meantime, they can be viewed, along with all of the broadcast on the CIGTV channel on YouTube at http://bit.ly/2CqD1b5.

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs