86 F Clouds
Saturday, Jul 13 2024, 08:17 PM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

Hilton tops field at Butterfield 800 sea swim

Sports 05 Jun, 2023 Follow News

Top 10 — The top-10 finishers at the annual Butterfield 800-metres Sea Swim 27 May at Governor’s Beach. L_R Dominic Hilton, Will Sellars, Connor MacDonald, Harper Barrowman, Andrew Mbugua, Tate Hilton, Josh Rose, Phin Ellison and Luke Higgo. Missing from photo Jake Bailey.

More than 140 athletes registered for the Butterfield 800-metres Sea Swim 27 May at Governor’s Beach.

Dominic Hilton crossed the finish line less than one-third of a second ahead of second-place Will Sellars in an exciting finish to the 2023 Butterfield 800-metres Sea Swim Saturday (27 May) at Governor’s Beach.

Hilton won the overall title by finishing in 10-minutes, 39.64 seconds, while Sellars (10:39.92) and Connor MacDonald (10:51.11) rounded out the top three. Harper Barrowman (11:00.86) was the first female finisher and placed fourth overall.

“Cayman is an island surrounded by water. It’s always a fantastic opportunity to get the community out here participating in things that are good for the body, good for the mind,” said Butterfield Bank Marketing and Communications Manager Rory Mann. “We’re really, really happy with the turnout that we’ve had today.”

There were 143 swimmers who registered for the event, ranging from athletes in their 70s to those eight or younger. The Butterfield event has been organised for nearly two decades and is one of several annual open water sea swims on the CIASA calendar.

“Being active in the community is something that’s always been important to us,” Mann said. “Butterfield recently aligned our sponsorship and charitable donations with that of the UN Global Compact, health and wellbeing being one of those sustainable goals. There’s nothing more healthy or better for your wellbeing than being out here participating in the sea swim.”

Age group winners include: Arty Clark (male 8U), Mila Sweetman (female 8U), Samuel Haworth (male 9-10), Sydney Turnham (female 9-10), Lennox Turnham (male 11-12), Tessa Danter (female 11-12), Josh Rose (male 13-14), Riley Watson (female 13-14), Hilton (male 15-19), Barrowman (female 15-19), Jake Bailey (male 20-29), Megan Palmer (female 20-29), Jamie Roberts (male 30-39), Johanna Gustafsdottir (female 30-39), Emil Kalinowsky (male 40-49), Krista Drobac (female 40-49), Marius Acker (male 50-59), Sarah Trott (female 50-59), Wayne Hannum (male 60-69) and Frank Flowers (male 70 and over).

Up next on the local sea swim calendar is the 31st-annual Flowers Sea Swim, which takes place on 17 June.

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs