82 F Rain
Saturday, Jun 22 2024, 11:24 PM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

JGHS students awarded prestigious scholarships

Front Pages 20 Feb, 2023 Follow News

Government High School Scholar Abigail Rose (c) receives her award from Premier the Honourable Wayne Panton (l) and Minister for Education, the Honourable Juliana O’Connor-Connolly (r).

Government High Schools Scholar Diamond White (c) receives his award from Deputy Premier, the Honourable Christopher Saunders (l) and Minister for Education, the Honourable Juliana O’Connor-Connolly (

Government High Schools Scholars Abigail Rose (3rd left) and Diamond White (3rd right) are photographed with their parents and John Gray High School Principal Mr. Jon Clark (l).

(l-r) Government High School Scholars Diamond White and Abigail Rose receive a ceremonial cheque from Deputy Governor the Honourable Franz Manderson and Minister for Education, the Honourable Juliana

Government High Schools Scholars Abigail Rose (l) and Diamond White (r) pose with the ceremonial cheque.

Two former John Gray High School students, Abigail Rose and Diamond White, have been named government high school scholars by the Ministry of Education, and for that, will receive a scholarship worth up to $100,000 per year to further their studies.

Both students graduated from the school last year and were presented with their scholarships at a ceremony at the Grand Cayman Marriott Beach Resort last week.

The Ministry’s Acting Chief Officer Ms Lyneth Monteith explained the programme came about last year because they wanted to expand access to the highest quality education for government high school graduates who exhibited academic excellence.

“It also aims to create equal opportunity for both male and female graduates to realise the full benefits of high-quality education, and raise the profile of our government schools by incentivising other pupils to exert more effort to excel as exhibited by these exemplary role models from their schools,” she said.

The scholarship will go towards the students’ overseas undergraduate tertiary studies.

Education Minister Juliana O’Connor-Connolly implored the students to continue striving for excellence and making the people of the Cayman Islands proud.

Minister O’Connor-Connolly also noted the importance of the programme in motivating and empowering Caymanians.

“Through the government high schools scholar award, we have expanded access to the most prestigious universities, and the pathway to achieving the highest heights has now been made even clearer,” she said.

The scholars were selected from the Cayman Islands government schools graduating class of 2022.

 For more information on the government high schools scholar award programme, visit www.gov.ky/education .

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs