86 F Clouds
Friday, Jul 19 2024, 09:51 PM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

MYSCH Introduces the National Youth Commission

Government 12 Aug, 2022 Follow News

MYSCH Introduces the National Youth Commission

Ministry of Youth representative Ms Alanis Linwood-Amor addresses the Meet & Greet on Monday, 8 August 2022.

The Ministry of Youth, Sports, Culture and Heritage (MYSCH) held a meet & greet of the newly-appointed National Youth Commission in the presence of several Caucus members on Monday, 8 August.

Joining the Minister for Youth, Sports, Culture and Heritage, Hon. Bernie Bush; were Premier, Hon. G. Wayne Panton; Deputy Premier, Hon. Christopher Saunders; Minister for Health, Wellness and Home Affairs, Hon Sabrina Turner; Minister for Financial Services & Commerce, Investment, Innovation and Social Development, Hon. Andre Ebanks; Minister for Tourism and Transport, Hon. Kenneth Bryan, Parliamentary Secretaries: Mr. Isaac Rankine, Ms Heather Bodden and Mrs. Katherine Ebanks-Wilks.

Addressing the Commission, Premier Panton said: “The PACT Government is determined to create a brighter future for Caymanian youth – a future where they are prepared, confident, capable and empowered to thrive in their own country.

“The newly-appointed National Youth Commission will help identify and recommend necessary changes to create that brighter future,” he added.

In his remarks, Minister for Youth, Hon. Bernie Bush said: “I am encouraged by the interest, willingness to serve and attendance by each of you as we work to ensure that youth-related issues are highlighted and addressed at such a high level. Not only will the Commission help give our young people a voice on matters that affect their lives now, but it will also assist in shaping policies and programmes which directly and indirectly affect our youth going forward.”

The 13-member Commission comprises:

Dr. Ruthlyn Pomares (Chairperson) - Registered Medical Practitioner

Cottrell Ellis - Psychologist

Dajsha Samuels-McLean - Attorney-at-Law

Monina Thompson – Youth Representative

Reon Porter – Youth Representative

Tashell Dawson – Youth Representative (Sister Islands)

Natasja Levy - Layperson

Stephen Price - Finance Representative

Laila Shim - National Drug Council Representative

Camila Ferreira – Ministry of Education Representative

Mehr Petkovsek – Ministry of Social Development Representative

Alanis Linwood - Amor – Ministry of Youth Representative and

Mellony Bryan - Waugh – Youth Services Unit

Chairperson, Dr. Ruthlyn Pomares shares, “I am very encouraged by the tone and energy of the Meet & Greet. This was the first time that members had met as a body, and it is clear that everyone is as keen as I am to ensure that the work of the Commission is successful in meaningfully impacting Cayman’s youth.”

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs