82 F Clear
Wednesday, May 29 2024, 03:05 AM
Close Ad
Back To Listing


Local News 18 Oct, 2022 Follow News

Governor Roper

His Excellency the Governor Mr. Martyn Roper, OBE, chaired the meeting of the National Security Council held on Tuesday, 4th October 2022 in the Cabinet Conference Room, Government Administration Building. 

All Members of the National Security Council were present.

At this meeting the National Security Council:

• Received a briefing from the Commissioner of Police on the situation in Grand Cayman as it relates to crime and drugs and efforts to address criminal activity, including recent gun incidents and progress made in addressing these; received detailed briefing on drug issues in Cayman Brac and measures taken to tackle these;

• Received a briefing from Deputy Director of Customs and Border Control on irregular Cayman migrants and the asylum process;

• Received a presentation from the Director and Acting Manager of Cruise Ops and Security of the Cayman Islands Port Authority regarding the ISPS Code Inspection and action plans to address areas identified as either not in conformity or in conformity but improvement desirable;

• Received a presentation on behalf of the Deputy Commissioner of Police Kurt Walton regarding RCIPS Policing and Security and procurement of new security equipment that would improve the effectiveness of officers deployed at vehicle check points; and

• Received a presentation by Commander Robert Scotland of the Cayman Islands Coast Guards regarding coastal surveillance and maritime domain awareness.

Published by the Cabinet Office on Friday, 14th October 2022.

Guidance Notes:

1. The National Security Council is established under section 58 of the Cayman Islands Constitution Order (as amended).

2. NSC Members are as follows: His Excellency the Governor Mr. Martyn Roper, OBE (Chair);

Hon. G. Wayne Panton, Premier; Hon. Franz Manderson, Deputy Governor; Hon. Sabrina Turner, Minister; Hon. Andre Ebanks, Minister; Hon. Samuel Bulgin QC, Attorney General; Hon. Roy McTaggart, Leader of the Opposition, Mr. Derek Byrne, Commissioner of Police; Mr. Ian Pairaudeau,, civil society representative; and Mr. Christopher Philips, civil society representative.

3. Post meeting summaries will be published by the Cabinet Office following a meeting of the National Security Council.

4. Only a summary of the decisions will be published.

5. National Security Council discussions will not be disclosed.

6. Summaries of decisions of a sensitive nature, matters of national security, those where publication breaches regional or international conventions and those relating to personal privacy will not be disclosed.

7. Post meeting summaries will be available on gov.ky and the Cayman Islands Government’s digital channels.

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs