88 F Clouds
Wednesday, Jul 17 2024, 11:23 AM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

Past Miss Cayman Islands Titleholders unite to celebrate the 70th Anniversary of the Miss World pageant

Community 16 Dec, 2021 1 Comments Follow News

Official Group Photo of MWCI 70th Anniversary Photo Shoot by Wil Bignal

Miss Cayman Queens celebrate 70 years of the Miss World Pageant with iconic photo shoot


Miss World 2021 is slated to be the 70th edition of the Miss World Pageant to be held 6pm EDT on Thursday, December 16th, 2021 at the Jose Miguel Agrelot Coliseum in San Juan, Puerto Rico. Toni-Ann Singh of Jamaica will crown her successor at the end of the event.

In celebration of the 70th anniversary of the Miss World pageant, 19 out of some 36 past Miss Cayman Islands Queens who competed on the world stage during their reign, were brought together for an iconic photo shoot at the University College of the Cayman Islands auditorium on Saturday, October 9th to celebrate, memorialize and reflect on the Miss World journey over 70 years.

The photo shoot was inspired by MWCI Director Pamela Ebanks-Small who noted the concept came from Vanity Fair. The photo shoot, directed by local Photographer Wil Bignal, took about two days to set up.

The MWCI Director, who is attending the Miss World pageant on Thursday, December 16th 2021, is expected to present a framed copy of the group photo to Julia Morley, Chairman and CEO of the Miss World Organization.

“As this year is the 70th edition of the Miss World pageant, I felt it was important to do something really special for Julia Morley, the Miss World organization and the Cayman community,” MWCI Director, Pamela Ebanks-Small said. “I came up with the concept of a photo that captured our Cayman queens who have participated at the Miss World pageant over the years. It was difficult, especially with the Covid-19 pandemic, to gather the 19 queens who are in the photo, but luckily we made it happen. There’s been 36 Caymanian queens represent us at the Miss World pageant since 1977, many were off Island, so we were happy to capture 19 of them.” Ms. Ebanks-Small noted.

“It was truly a privilege to be the very first to represent Cayman at Miss World in 1977,” First Cayman representative at Miss World, Patricia Jackson-Patino said. “Mr. Jim Bodden told me that he had “great faith” in me and that I would do “a fine job representing our people.” It was certainly a daunting task for an 18-year-old, but I was up for the challenge. Eric and Julia Morley made sure that all the Miss World contestants felt welcome, comfortable, and totally supported. They also made sure that we had the experience of a lifetime during our time in London. I will never forget it.” Jackson-Patino commented. “Pamela has done an amazing job at the helm of the Miss World Cayman Islands pageant, and it is an honour to be a part of this historic photograph. I am humbled to be amongst the remarkable women who have since worn the crown and represented our country on a world platform.” Ms. Jackson-Patino said.

“We really have to show our appreciation to all those who made this happen. Especially our photographer, Wil Bignal who brought our vision to life. Ms. Ebanks-Small commented. “Special thanks to Rashana’s parents, Ray and Dena and best friend, Megan who helped with organizing the photo shoot. Also to Cortez Vernon, Celebrations, UCCI, Luxury Couture Makeup, Patrick Willis (stylist), the 19 Queens who took part and the Miss World Cayman committee members. This is truly an iconic photo that will make history!” Ms. Ebanks-Small said.

Reigning Miss World Cayman Islands Rashana Hydes will represent the Cayman Islands at the 70th edition of the Miss World Pageant on Thursday, December 16th 2021. It will broadcast LIVE from Puerto Rico on Logic TV Channel 1 at 6pm.


On the photo: Official Group Photo of MWCI 70th Anniversary Photo Shoot by Wil Bignal. Rashana Hdyes (2021), Jaci Patrick (2019), Kelsie Woodman-Bodden (2018), Lindsay Japal (2011), Nicosia Lawson (2008), Ambuyah Ebanks (2006), Stacy-Ann Rose Kelly (2004), Nichelle Welcome (2003), Mona Lisa Tatum (1999), Audry Elizabeth Ebanks (1993), Pamela Jo Ebanks (1992), Bethea Michelle Christian (1990), Melisa McTaggart (1988), Deborah Elizabeth Cridland (1986), Thora Ann Crighton (1984), Donna Marie Mayrie (1981), Jennifer Pearl Jackson (1979), Wendy Daykin (1978), Patricia Jackson Patino (1977).

Comments (1)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs


16 Dec, 2021

Nice shot! One amaxing Beauty in Blue noe shares a surname with me!