81 F Clouds
Monday, Apr 15 2024, 07:54 AM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

Primary School Football returns

Sports 30 Sep, 2020 Follow News

The 2020 CUC PFL and GPFL returns this Saturday, October 3

Saturday morning excitement returns to primary school fields across Grand Cayman as the 2020 CUC Primary Football League (PFL) and the CUC Girls’ Primary Football League (GPFL) regular seasons kick-off this Saturday, October 3. The 2020 season marks CUC’s 15th year as exclusive sponsors of these flourishing youth football leagues.

The customary Opening Rallies were not played this year due to the pandemic but the Cayman Youth Football Leagues (CYFL), the organisation responsible for coordinating and administering all primary and high school football, were given the go-ahead by the Department of Education Services and the Department of Sports to proceed with the regular leagues.

In the CUC PFL Under 9 division, defending 2019 league champions Cayman Prep 9A look to add yet another trophy to their already crowded school trophy cabinet as they embark on a third successive Under 9 league title. Under 9 Consolation Cup champions NorthEast Schools surprised everyone in 2019 as they performed brilliantly throughout the season to secure their first major CUC PFL trophy.

In the CUC PFL Under 11 division, defending 2019 league champions St. Ignatius Catholic School finally broke Cayman Prep’s strangle-hold on the league championship to win their first Under 11 title in a number of years. This year, St. Ignatius goes for title number two. Under 11 Consolation Cup champions Red Bay Primary are looking to go one better this year as they vie for the coveted Under 11 league championship, a title they won during the 2014/2015 season.

Schools competing in the CUC PFL this year include Sir John A. Cumber Primary, George Town Primary, Red Bay Primary, Prospect Primary, Savannah Primary, Theoline L. McCoy Primary (formerly Bodden Town Primary), NorthEast Schools (a combination of Edna Moyle Primary and East End Primary), Wesleyan Christian Academy, Cayman International School, Cayman Prep, St. Ignatius Catholic School, Truth For Youth, Triple C School, Cayman Academy and South Sound Schools ( a combination of Montessori By the Sea, Hope Academy and First Baptist Christian School).

In the CUC GPFL Under 11 division, Cayman Prep Blue look to retain their 2019 league title after going undefeated in nine games, scoring 28 goals and conceding only three. After finishing second and third respectively in 2019, Cayman International School and St. Ignatius Catholic School will surely have something to say about Cayman Prep Blue running away with the title again this year, as will the other six schools competing in 2020.

The CUC GPFL Under 11 league follows a round-robin structure with each school playing the other schools once.

This year, the CUC GPFL Under 9 league will be included on the official schedule. In 2019, the CUC GPFL Under 9 league was in its second ‘experimental’ year with a number of schools organising small-sided games at various school fields. The league is a non-competitive, fun league introduced to encourage young ladies to begin playing football at an early age. A number of schools such as Sir John A. Cumber Primary, Savannah Primary, George Town Primary, Cayman Prep, Cayman International School and St. Ignatius Catholic participated in 2019 and will be again in 2020.

Supporters of the beautiful game are encouraged to go out to the various sports facilities and school fields and show their support for these Under 9 and Under 11 athletes as they compete for school pride.

Season opening games will be played at the West Bay Town Hall Field, Ronald Forbes Field, Theoline L. McCoy Field, Red Bay Primary Field, St. Ignatius Catholic Field and the Annex Field.

The CYFL thank Progressive Distributors and Gatorade for their ongoing support of the CUC PFL and GPFL.

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs