84 F Clouds
Tuesday, Jul 23 2024, 06:53 AM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

Swearing in of New Government on Wednesday

Government 20 Apr, 2021 Follow News

Swearing in of New Government on Wednesday

Earlier today, Premier Designate, G. Wayne Panton met with H.E. the Governor, Martyn Roper to provide him an update on the swearing in of Parliament and the formation of the Government.

In attendance were MP Elects, Christopher Saunders, Kenneth Bryan, and Andre Ebanks. It was agreed that to ensure that there was a smooth transition of administrations and to avoid any doubt, Ms. Irma Arch would be appointed as temporary Speaker to ensure that a quorum of 10 members within the Parliament is present at all times for this historic occasion. Premier Designate, G. Wayne Panton stated: “I would like to thank Governor Roper and his team for all the assistance and guidance provided during this transition.

They have all been professional and patient as we work through the democratic process. I would also like to thank Ms. Irma Arch for agreeing to preside over this historic occasion and it is a testament to our islands that during challenging times we can always rely on our women to play an important role.”

The swearing in of the Members of Parliament for the 2021 – 2025 term will take place tomorrow, Wednesday the 21st April 2021 at 3pm.

Premier Designate, G. Wayne Panton concluded: “I want to thank the thousands of our fellow Caymanians, and those who call the Cayman Islands home, that have reached out to me and to my team to not only offer their congratulations but also their desire to assist in moving our country forward. Their willingness serves to remind us all that Community Creates Country and I look forward to seeing everyone tomorrow

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs