82 F Clouds
Friday, Jul 12 2024, 06:31 AM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

Three top students awarded Dart scholarships in 2023

Front Pages 10 Jul, 2023 Follow News

2023 Dart Scholars (L-R): Dart CEO Mark VanDevelde; Dart Scholars Kyla Machingambi, Leila Sulliman-Maw and Alison Owens; and Dart Director Jackie Doak.

Dart has announced three students will join the prestigious Dart Scholar programme in 2023. Leila Sulliman-Maw will receive the William A. Dart Memorial Scholarship to study Life Sciences at the University of Toronto, Canada. Two high school scholarships are awarded to Kyla Machingambi and Alison Owens, both in Year 9 at Cayman Prep & High School.

All three students excelled throughout the multi-round selection process which included two Dart Scholar alumni as part of the adjudication panel. Applications and written tests were reviewed blind before candidates were short-listed for interview by a panel of internal and external judges in a rigorous process based on meritocracy and fairness.

“Our Dart Scholar programme is designed to recognise and promote academic excellence. It’s one of the many ways we are investing in Cayman’s future,” said Dart CEO Mark VanDevelde. “These three young women are not only exceptional students, they have also demonstrated leadership and service in their communities from an early age. In becoming Dart Scholars, they join a group of talented young people who are already making a positive impact in Cayman.”

There are now 40 current and past scholars in the programme which was launched in 2011. Each year, Dart awards one university scholarship and two four-year high school scholarships with a focus on science, technology, engineering and mathematics. Dart Scholars receive financial support of up to $40,000 per year and are offered paid internships each summer, giving them the opportunity to experience a variety of roles and industries before graduating. For high school scholars, Dart also arranges an annual enrichment trip which this year will see six students visiting Oxford University in July.

With 38 applicants for the university scholarship and 29 at high school level, the three Dart Scholar recipients were outstanding amongst their cohort.

Leila Sulliman-Maw, William A. Dart Memorial Scholarship

Leila graduated St. Ignatius Catholic School as the high school valedictorian with A-levels in mathematics, biology, chemistry and computer science. She heads to the University of Toronto in September to study Life Sciences, majoring in biochemistry with the goal of becoming a medical doctor. Leila was on the school debate team, played on various youth national netball teams and was selected for the Chamber of Commerce Mentorship programme. A member of the St Ignatius robotics programme, Leila has also mentored younger students in STEM subjects.

Kyla Machingambi, High School Scholarship

Kyla is a top student at Cayman Prep & High School where she has consistently attains A*/A grades across all subjects and has received multiple Principal Awards. Kyla has a keen interest in STEM subjects, winning silver in the UKMT Maths Challenge and gold at the Clifton Hunter Invitational Maths competition. She enjoys chess and is a talented guitar player. She represents her school on both basketball and netball teams and volunteers at her church.

Alison Owens, High School Scholarship

Alison is a straight-A student at Cayman Prep & High School where she has received the Principal Award an impressive nine times. Her interests in STEM subjects and wellness are leading Alison towards a career in medicine. She is an active member of the school’s debate team, won prizes in the UKMT Maths Challenge and was selected to attend the Youth Empowerment Symposium. Alison is currently her year’s representative on the Student Council and is a keen tennis player.

In addition, Dart recognised three finalists in the high school category. Jaden Ebanks (Layman E. Scott High School, Cayman Brac), Alexandra Hendrikse (Cayman Prep & High School) and Cosette Brendel (St. Ignatius Catholic School) will each receive a monetary award.

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs