82 F Clouds
Sunday, Dec 03 2023, 10:06 PM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

UPM forms new Government

Front Pages 20 Nov, 2023 Follow News

New Premier Hon. Juliana O’Connor-Connolly seated third from left with Her Excellency the Governor, Mrs. Jane Owen, and her Government Members: seated from left: Ministers Hon. Sabrina Turner, Hon. Katherine Ebanks-Wilks, Deputy Premier and Minister Hon. Andre Ebanks and Minister Hon. Kenneth Bryan;

Deputy Premier Hon. Andre Ebanks, with Her Excellency the Governor, Mrs. Jane Owen following the swearing-in on 15 November 2023

The Premier, Hon. Juliana O’Connor-Connolly, with Her Excellency the Governor, Mrs. Jane Owen following the swearing-in on 15 November 2023

Education Minister Julianna O’Connor-Connolly is now Cayman’s Premier, leading a newly formed political group, the United People’s Movement (UPM), which has been made of up 12 existing Members of Parliament. Financial Services Minister Andre Ebanks has been made Deputy Premier. Former Premier Wayne Panton will be nominated to the role of Speaker of Parliament, having been ousted from the top political spot.

Governor Jane Owen has been notified of this transition and has accepted the composition of the new administration, comprised of 12 Members:

1. Hon. Juliana O’Connor-Connolly MP: Premier and Minister for Finance, Education, District Administration, Lands and Cabinet Office

2. Hon. Andre Ebanks MP: Deputy Premier, Minister for Financial Services & Commerce and Investment, Innovation & Social Development

3. Hon. Kenneth Bryan MP: Minister for Tourism & Ports

4. Hon. Johany “Jay” Ebanks MP: Minister for Planning, Agriculture, Housing, Infrastructure as well as Transport & Development

5. Hon. Sabrina Turner MP: Minister for Health & Wellness and Home Affairs

6.     Hon. Isaac Rankine MP: Minister for Youth, Sports and Heritage

7. Hon. Dwayne Seymour MP: Minister for Border Control & Labour and Culture

8. Hon. Katherine Ebanks-Wilks MP: Minister for Sustainability & Climate Resiliency

Heather Bodden, MP remains the Deputy Speaker as well as a Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministries of Tourism and Ports and Social Development.

MP Bernie Bush gave up his position in Cabinet to former Speaker Katherine Ebanks-Wilks and he will remain with the Government. A government statement said outgoing Minister Bernie Bush was pivotal in the reconfiguration of the new Government.

The release said this represented a reconfiguration of roles to emphasise the group’s shared ideals, as they work together in pursuit of the Government’s five broad outcomes for the people of the Cayman Islands:

1. Improve the quality of Life for Caymanians;

2. Enhance Cayman’s competitiveness while meeting international standards;

3. Modernise the Government to improve public sector performance;

4. Future proofing to increase resilience; and

5. Protect and promote Caymanian culture, heritage and identity.

The new Premier said: “One of the key aspects of this smooth transition is the retention of the existing Cabinet Ministers, as a testament to the group’s commitment to continuity and stability. The UPM is determined to be innovative and to accelerate the delivery of results for the people of the Cayman Islands.”

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs