85 F Clouds
Wednesday, Apr 17 2024, 10:52 AM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

Windies eye World Cup glory

Sports 26 Feb, 2024 Follow News

West Indies will be led by Rovman Powell

West Indies and the USA are preparing to host this summer’s ninth edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. West Indies won the World Cup in 2012 and 2016.

It runs from June 1-29 and will see a record 20 teams divided into four groups competing across 55 games for the right to be crowned champions.  Besides the co-hosts, the other qualifiers are: Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Canada, England, India, Ireland, Namibia, Nepal, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Oman, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Uganda.

West Indies will be captained by Rovman Powell, a middle-order batter who bowls occasional medium pace.

Powell’s maiden one-day international hundred, against Ireland in 2018, helped West Indies to a crucial win in the World Cup qualifier, and he captained a weakened side in Bangladesh later that year, but was left out of the squad for the World Cup itself, in 2019. But recent good form has secured the 30-year-old Jamaican’s place and leadership role.

Group A: India, Pakistan, Ireland, Canada and the USA

Group B: England, Australia, Namibia, Scotland and Oman

Group C: New Zealand, the West Indies, Afghanistan, Uganda and Papua New Guinea

Group D: South Africa, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, the Netherlands and Nepal

The event commences with the two co-hosts starting their campaigns on the first two days. The USA will take on Canada in the tournament opener at the Grand Prairie Cricket Stadium in Dallas on Saturday 1 June. The West Indies kick start their campaign against Papua New Guinea at the Guyana National Stadium the next day.

One of cricket’s biggest rivalries is in the Big Apple when India face Pakistan on Sunday 9 June. The fixture will be played in a cutting-edge new 34,000-seat stadium 30 miles east of downtown Manhattan in Nassau County, New York. Eight matches will be played at the venue.

Defending champions England start against Scotland on Tuesday 4 June in Barbados and 2022 finalists, Pakistan, begin their challenge on Thursday 6 June, against USA in Dallas.

Tickets start at just US$6 and are being sold on a first-come, first-served basis at www.tickets.t20worldcup.com.

 “The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for fans to witness the world’s greatest cricket superstars in action in some of the world’s most inviting Caribbean and US destinations,” said Fawwaz Baksh, tournament director. “This is going to be the biggest sporting event on a global scale the West Indies has ever hosted.”

Fans wanting to take in all the action at their favourite Caribbean venues can do so for games at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium (Antigua and Barbuda), Kensington Oval (Barbados), Guyana National Stadium (Guyana), Daren Sammy Cricket Ground (Saint Lucia), Arnos Vale (Saint Vincent and the Grenadines) and Brian Lara Cricket Academy (Trinidad and Tobago).

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs