84 F Clouds
Saturday, Jun 15 2024, 02:25 AM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

Youth Parliamentarians prove their Mettle

Local News 20 Mar, 2023 Follow News

Premier, Hon. Wayne Panton addressed the youth

Ms Bina Mani receives a certificate of appreciation from the Governor on behalf of the Department of Communication.

Governor, Mr. Martyn Roper, OBE, presents the Best Debater on the Government Bench to Mr. Alexander Harris

Mr. Reon Porter presents the Best Debater Overall plaque to Ms Jhenelle Colquhoon

Premier Group Alexander Harris

The participants of the 16th CPA Youth Parliament

By Bina Mani

The 16th Commonwealth Parliamentary Association’s Youth Parliament was deemed a grand success in scope, performance and attendance.

Twenty six high school and tertiary participants proved their abilities for conducting proceedings in the House and for debating two motions, understanding the thrust and parry that takes place on the floor of the Parliament Chamber during debates. In the process, they also learned about the procedures and practices that underpin the smooth working of Parliament.

Also, the 26 participants earned kudos from the Governor, the Premier, Ministers, MPs, officials and parents alike for their dedicated, animated and superb performance, making all of them winners of the day.

However, there were also some special trophies added this year, increasing the numbers of those recognised each year for outstanding performance. In addition to the best debater on the Government and Opposition benches, there were also first and second runners-up on either bench, for the first time.

Additionally, former Youth Parliamentarian for six years, mentor of the youth this year and international accolades winner, Mr. Reon Porter presented the trophy for the best debater overall that he has instituted as a rolling trophy from this year.

Trophy winners were:

Reon Porter Trophy for Best Debater Overall – Ms Jhenelle Colquhoon, who was the Leader of the Opposition in the Youth Parliament;

Government Bench:

Best Debater: Mr. Alexander Harris, who was the Deputy Premier and Minister for Finance & Economic Development and Border Control & Labour;

First Runner-up: Ms. Keira Bodden, who was Minister for Health & Wellness and Home Affairs;

Second Runner-up: Mr. Jordan McDonald, who was the Youth Parliament’s Deputy Governor;

Opposition Bench:

Best Debater: Ms. Jhenelle Colquhoon; Leader of the Opposition

First Runner-up: Mr. Raldayne Thomas, MP for Bodden Town

Second Runner-up: Ms. Raeann Matute-Scott, MP for Cayman Brac West and Little Cayman.

Special thanks were rendered to the Parliament staff, led by Clerk of the Parliament, Mrs Zena Merren-Chin for their outstanding work in coordinating, organising and conducting the Youth Parliament.

Thanks were also expressed for the actual training of the Youth Parliamentarians by Ministers, present and past Parliamentarians, senior government officials and NGO members as well as to the sponsors: law firm Harneys, Ministry of Tourism and Transport, Cayman Airways, Radio Cayman and the Department of Communications.

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs