82 F Clear
Sunday, May 26 2024, 03:54 AM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

2020 National Heroes Day Celebrations Set

Community Notices 21 Jan, 2020 Follow News

2020 National Heroes Day Celebrations Set

2020 National Heroes Day Celebrations Set

Pioneers who contributed to the creation of the first written Constitution of the Cayman Islands will be honoured at the 2020 National Heroes Day celebrations on Monday, 27 January 2020.

“I look forward to this day every year when we all come together to pay tribute to those who have made these Cayman Islands great. We have so much to celebrate this year as we recognize those Vestrymen and Justices of the Peace who understood the importance of the Cayman Islands being protected by a written Constitution, as well as the women of these Islands who fought for their right to be counted and bravely stood in the 1959 general election,” said Premier Hon Alden McLaughlin.

The National Heroes Day Celebrations will be hosted by the Premier, Hon. Alden McLaughlin, Hon. Dwayne Seymour, JP – Minister for Culture as well as Celebrate Cayman.

Mr Samuel Rose, Cabinet Secretary added, “The celebration of these women honours the lengthy and difficult struggle women faced through-out history to obtain equal rights. Previously local history books had not accounted for the very important fact that in 1959 four courageous women ran for public office and forever changed our political and cultural landscape. We endeavor to rewrite history to include and celebrate them.”

Other highlights of this year’s celebrations will include pre-entertainment by Triple C School, a walk-past by primary and secondary school children in a flag procession, as well as the traditional parade which will include contingents of the Royal Cayman Islands Police Service, the Cayman Islands Fire Service, Her Majesty’s Prison Service, Cadet Corps, Girls Brigade, Scouts and the Seventh Day Adventist Pathfinders. There will be a special ceremony to honour and memorialise our National Heroes.

“National Heroes Day is the largest official event hosted by the Cayman Islands Government to pay homage to the great stewards of our heritage and culture. As Minister for Culture I am proud to be one of the hosts again this year. I look forward to this opportunity to honour and celebrate the people whose vision and hard-work 60 years ago paved the way for us today,” added Honourable Dwayne Seymour, JP – Minister for Health, Environment, Culture and Housing.

The Cayman Islands’ National Heroes will be recognised, reminding the public about the multi-faceted contributions of the nine stalwarts: Hon. James (Jim) Manoah Bodden; Hon. Sybil Ione McLaughlin, MBE, JP; Hon. Thomas William Farrington, CBE, JP; Hon. Sybil Joyce Hylton, MBE; Hon. Ormond L. Panton, OBE, Hon. Desmond V. Watler, CBE; Hon. Mary Evelyn Wood, Cert. Hon., Hon. William Warren Connolly, OBE, JP and Dr. the Hon. Roy Edison McTaggart.

Laying of wreaths and a moment of silence will also be observed to commemorate the country’s deceased nation builders.

“The creation of the 1959 Constitution was a great milestone for the Cayman Islands as well as a catalyst that helped shape the country we know and love today. As we celebrate 60 years of our first written constitution I encourage everyone across our islands to attend this patriotic event,” commented Mr Alfonso Wright, Executive Chairman – Celebrate Cayman.

The celebrations are set to start promptly at 9 a.m. and attendees are asked to be seated by 8:30 a.m. The dress code is business attire; hats are optional.

In case of inclement weather the event will be hosted from inside the First Baptist Church.

Following the ceremony the public is invited to stay for live music, free local cuisine as well as to tour the exhibits at George Town Library and Constitutional Hall (formerly George Town, Town Hall).

The celebrations are organised by the Cayman Islands Protocol Office and Celebrate Cayman. For more information please contact 244-3612 or nationalevents@gov.ky.

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs