86 F Clear
Sunday, Jul 14 2024, 09:52 PM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

United People's Movement Secures the Government

Front Pages 15 Nov, 2023 1 Comments Follow News

United People's Movement Secures the Government

A new political group, the United People’s Movement (UPM), made of up 12 existing Members of Parliament has come together under the leadership of Honourable Julianna O’Connor-Connolly as Premier and Honourable Andre Ebanks as Deputy Premier. Former Premier Wayne Panton will be nominated to the role of Speaker of Parliament.

Her Excellency, Governor Jane Owen was duly notified of this transition and has accepted the composition of the new administration, comprised of 12 Members:

Hon. Juliana O'Connor-Connolly MP: Premier and Minister for Finance, Education, District Administration, Lands and Cabinet Office

Hon. Andre Ebanks MP: Deputy Premier, Minister for Financial Services & Commerce and Investment, Innovation & Social Development

Hon. Kenneth Bryan MP: Minister for Tourism & Ports

Hon. Johany "Jay" Ebanks MP: Minister for Planning, Agriculture, Housing, Infrastructure as well as Transport & Development

Hon. Sabrina Turner MP: Minister for Health & Wellness and Home Affairs

Hon. Isaac Rankine MP: Minister for Youth, Sports and Heritage

Hon. Dwayne Seymour MP: Minister for Border Control & Labour and Culture

Hon. Katherine Ebanks-Wilks MP: Minister for Sustainability & Climate Resiliency

Heather Bodden, MP remains the Deputy Speaker as well as a Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministries of Tourism and Ports and Social Development.

MP Bernie Bush graciously offered his position in Cabinet to former Speaker Katherine Ebanks-Wilks and he will remain with the Government. Outgoing Minister Bernie Bush was pivotal in the reconfiguration of this Government and all Members of the UPM thanked him for his unwavering dedication and passionate advocacy for the subjects of his former Ministry. McKeeva Bush, MP will also sit on the Government’s backbench.

This represents a reconfiguration of roles to emphasize the group’s shared ideals, as they work together in pursuit of the Government’s five broad outcomes for the people of the Cayman Islands:

Improve the Quality of Life for Caymanians

Enhance Our Competitiveness While Meeting International Standards

Modernise the Government to Improve Public Sector Performance

Future Proofing to Increase Resilience and

Protect and Promote Caymanian Culture, Heritage and Identity


The Premier, Cabinet Ministers and the back-bench member also want to thank the former Premier, Hon. Wayne Panton for his dedication and service during the past two and a half years, particularly managing the country in the second half of the pandemic and successfully reopening the country’s borders. Members of the UPM are confident MP Panton will offer the country a great service as the new Speaker of Parliament.

“One of the key aspects of this smooth transition is the retention of the existing Cabinet Ministers, as a testament to the group’s commitment to continuity and stability. The UPM is determined to be innovative and to accelerate the delivery of results for the people of the Cayman Islands,” said Hon Premier Julianna O’Connor-Connolly.

Comments (1)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs

Alesea A. Calderon

16 Nov, 2023

Honorable Members of our new Government
Thank you for your bravery!

Sunset and evening star,
And one clear call for me!
And may there be no moaning of the bar,
When I put out to sea,
But such a tide as moving seems asleep,
Too full for sound and foam,
When that which drew from out the boundless deep
Turns again home.
Twilight and evening bell,
And after that the dark!
And may there be no sadness of farewell,
When I embark;
For tho' from out our bourne of Time and Place
The flood may bear me far,
I hope to see my People face to face
When I have crossed the bar.