82 F Clouds
Friday, Dec 04 2020, 04:19 PM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

Government Schools Outline Plans for Continuation of Learning

Education 20 Mar, 2020 Follow News

Government Schools Outline Plans for Continuation of Learning

Minister for Education, The Honourable Juliana O’Connor-Connolly

Minister for Education, The Honourable Juliana O’Connor-Connolly reassured the nation of her commitment to the safety and education of the nation’s youth during a Radio Cayman Interview earlier today.

“My goal is to maintain the safety of our students while still ensuring students’ ongoing education. My staff have been working around the clock to implement measures to limit disruptions to their formal education. I fully believe that a nation without education is doomed for disaster. We have a responsibility to ensure that no child in the Cayman Islands will be left behind.”

Further to the announcement of all education institutions closing on Monday, 16 March until 27 April 2020, the Department of Education Services (DES) advises that all government schools have implemented a variety of distance learning techniques and tools to ensure continuation of learning among their students.

“Ahead of the announcement of school closures, we sent out a survey to parents to ascertain their access levels to technology, understanding capabilities vary per household. This aided efforts to implement contingencies for home learning. Further to the 1600 survey responses received so far, each school has provided educational instruction through a combination of channels including paper-based learning packages, a daily timetable, access to online platforms such as the Raz Kids, EDU365 Everest, Study Ladders, Purple Mash, Oxford Owl, Epic as well as access to PowerMath, English and Science Resources online,” stated Acting Director of DES, Tammy Hopkins.

“We encourage parents to create a quiet workspace for children away from distractions and encourage them to maintain good learning and working habits,” Mrs. Hopkins. “This will allow you to simulate the classroom environment and maximise the learning effect.”

Teachers will continue to communicate directly with parents and students through traditional communication methods such as telephone calls, WhatsApp messages and emails as well as through the use of Class Dojo, Edomodo, Google Classroom, Skype and Zoom. The deadline for the parent survey is Friday, 20 March 2020.

Parents who have not received home learning materials or who have additional questions may contact the principal or director of their child’s school using the contact information from attached table.

For a trusted and reliable source for all official updates and information on COVID-19 Coronavirus monitor daily and visit www.gov.ky/coronavirus

 

School

Principal / Director

Email

Telephone Number

Edna Moyle Primary

Danielle Duran

danielle.duran@gov.ky

926-8343

East End Primary

Allison Greaves

allison.greaves@gov.ky

938-8971

Theoline McCoy Primary

Kimberly Watler

kimberly.watler@gov.ky

925-5464

CIFEC

Delores Thompson

delores.thompson@gov.ky

925-6386

Savannah Primary School

Delton Pedley

delton.pedley@gov.ky

925-0164

Clifton Hunter High

Richard Wildman

richard.wildman@gov.ky

936-0471

Lighthouse School

Janice Thorpe

janice.thorpe@gov.ky

916-7139

George Town Primary

Sharon Campbell-Danvers

sharon.campbell-danvers@gov.ky

925-5439

Sir John A Cumber Primary

Jovanna Wright

jovanna.wright@gov.ky

916-7584

Red Bay Primary

Ryan Dale

rdale@rbps.edu.ky

926-1217

Prospect Primary

Matthew Read

matthew.read@gov.ky

916-8318

John Gray High

Jon Clark

jclark@jghs.edu.ky

938-8537

Layman E Scott Snr High

Devon Bowen

dbowen@lshs.edu.ky

926-3045

Creek & Spot Bay Primary

Claudette Lazzari

claudette.lazzari@gov.ky

925-7232

West End Primary

Paul Samuel

paul.samuel@gov.ky

916-2698

Little Cayman Education Services

Veronica Juman Khan

vjuman-khan@lces.edu.ky

925-7239

 


Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs