84 F Clouds
Saturday, Apr 20 2024, 02:06 PM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

John Gray Wins 2024 Inter-Secondary Schools Sports

Sports 01 Apr, 2024 Follow News

(l-r) MoE Acting Chief Officer, Ms. Lyneth Monteith, Victrix Lodorum John Gray High School’s DaQuana Howell.

(l-r) MoE Acting Chief Officer, Ms. Lyneth Monteith, Victor Lodorum John Gray High School’s Jaysean Seymour (U-15) and Donald Mitchell.

John Gray High School’s Raldayne Thomas participates in the Boy’s 15-16 Discuss Throw.

Parliamentary Secretary, Mr. Bernie Bush delivers remarks at the start of Day 3.

Parliamentary Secretary, Mr. Bernie Bush delivers remarks at the start of Day 3.

Small Schools champion, Layman E Scott High School.

Members of John Gray High School family are jubilant after collecting the winning trophy.

By Stacey-Ann Anderson, Communications Manager

John Gray High School dominated the 2024 Inter-Secondary Schools Athletics Championships, securing a decisive victory after three days of exhilarating competition at the Truman Bodden Sports Complex. The final scores saw the school leading the pack with 1,140.5 points.

John Gray’s triumph was fueled by exceptional performances from several athletes. Victrix Ludorum, Under-15 champion DaQuana Howell, Victors Ludorum Jaysean Seymour (U-15) and Donald Mitchell (U-13) all delivered record-breaking feats. Jahriah Ngyou (U-13), Delora Johnson (U-17) and Prince Williams (U-17) also secured individual titles, further solidifying the team’s lead.

While acknowledging John Gray’s well-deserved win, Mr. Elroy Bryan, Head of the Local Organizing Committee, emphasised the impressive display of sportsmanship and talent across all schools. “Congratulations to John Gray on their well-deserved victory,” Mr. Bryan stated.  “Their athletes delivered exceptional performances. However, it’s important to acknowledge the exceptional spirit of competition throughout these championships. All 19 participating schools, with their 559 athletes and reserves, displayed remarkable teamwork and sportsmanship. This event is a testament to the depth of athletic talent and commitment within our Caymanian schools.”

Clifton Hunter High School (CHHS), the 2023 champions, maintained a strong presence, securing second place with 1,074.5 points.

Layman E. Scott High School emerged as the Small School Champion, accumulating 323 points.

Layman Scott’s Litzy Varela-Walton and Clifton Hunter’s DeAndre Beckford won the Under-20 divisional titles, showcasing individual excellence across various age groups.

The Day 3 opening ceremony was attended by Parliamentary Secretary Mr. Bernie Bush, who delivered remarks. Also, notable among attendees throughout the three days were Minister for Youth, Sports & Heritage, Hon. Isaac Rankine, Minister for Tourism & Ports Hon. Kenneth Bryan, Minister for Border Control & Labour and Culture, Hon Dwayne Seymour, MoE Acting Chief Officer Ms. Lyneth Monteith, Department of Education Services Director, Mr. Mark Ray, Department of Sports Director Mr. Kurt Hyde and other MOE, DES and DOS officials.

For a complete list of scores, please visit the Cayman Athletics website at https://athletics.org.ky/ .

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs