79 F Clouds
Monday, Jun 17 2024, 05:47 PM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

Red Bay Primary Virtual Leaving Ceremony Celebrates Excellence

Community 08 Jul, 2020 1 Comments Follow News

Ms Thomas-Raghubir (centre) and her members of her Year 6 class

Ms Whilby (centre) and members of her Year 6 class

Mr Lindo (centre) and members of his Year 6 class

The Red Bay Primary virtual school-leaving ceremony held on ZOOM in June, for the 72 members of the school’s Year 6 class, highlighted the students varied accomplishments.

In her welcome, Principal Dr. Vickie Frederick urged students to continue to strive amidst hurdles.

“Class of 2020, here is where your present knowledge and coping skills will be further challenged; You will have to apply what you now know with words of wisdom from God, your parents and your teachers going forward in order for you to be successful and prosperous if you truly want to strive for excellence,” she stated.

In addition to receiving subject prizes, several members of the school-leaving class were recognised with special awards for their achievements in a range of areas.

The following students received the award for Consistent Outstanding Academic Improvement: Alexander Henry, Aryah Bravo, Jordan Porter, Terry Nathan-Davis, Aiden Matthews, Joanna Whorms, Joshua Scott, Albert Henriques, Caylee Brown, Kaily Donnegan, Tahjay Henry, Ronald Simpson, Johanah O’Connor, Zander Puthillath, Levanah Watler, Jayadon Quinland, Nadette Durrant, Malik Weakley, Alanna Edwards, Devonte Forde, Alicia Allen, Kevanique Hill, Julio Ebanks-Powell, Shaelom Mason and Alzavia Goulbourne

The Christian Leadership Award went to Kevanique Hill, and Aylani Morris-Seymour, Isiah Allen, Rodolfo Amador Frederick, Lorrie Brown, Nadette Durrant, Johanah O’Connor, and Jordan Cummings received the Excellence in Leadership Award.

The Donna Reid Award for Excellence in Performing Arts went to Lorrie Brown while Lesthenia Laing, Lorrie Brown and Tahjay Henry were awarded the Sports Girl & Boy of the Year Awards for accomplishments in sports. Excellent Conduct and Character Awards were awarded to Joanna Whorms, Alleyanna Archer, Zander Puthillath, Neha Ravichandran, Aylani Morris-Seymour, Juronae Jackson, Kimberley Jimenez, Aryah Bravo, Javianah Sevilla and Lesthenia Laing.

The Principal’s Award for academic excellence went to Neha Ravichandran, Juronae Jackson, Aiden Whorms, Jordan Cummings, Aylani Morris-Seymour, Lorrie Brown, Genesis Herrera Sanchez, Deijha Mitchell, Kelani Estrella, Rodolfo Amador Frederick, Lesthenia Laing, Brianna Kentish, Isiah Allen, Rylan Bennett Carter, Nadette Durrant, Travaughn Turner and Javianah Sevilla. Rodolfo Amador Frederick received the Dr Kenrick Webster Young Entrepreneur Award. Aiden Whorms, Aylani Morris-Seymour and Rodolfo Amador Frederick received the Barbara Conolly Medal of Excellence Award.

In her special video message to graduates, Education Minister Julianna O’Connor-Connolly stated, “Utilise your reservoir of knowledge to harness wisdom and understanding and cultivate a heart of love, care, kindness, compassion, discernment and Cayman kindness.”

Councillor Barbara Conolly, Acting Department of Educational Services Director Tammy Banks DaCosta and Senior School Improvement Officer Nicholas Obie also delivered video messages. They further urged students to work hard, to utilise the knowledge that they gained during their time at Red Bay Primary, and to make wise choices.

Comments (1)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs


20 Jul, 2020

My fellow classmates and I did exceptionally well for the 2019-2020 school year.