79 F Clouds
Monday, Jun 17 2024, 05:29 PM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

Prospect Primary School (PPS) Declared 2023 Inter-Primary Sports Champion

Sports 23 Mar, 2023 Follow News

Victor Ludorum, Oshawney Johnson (r) is photographed with DOS Director, Mr. Kurt Hyde (l).

Victrix Ludorum, Sereniti Rankin (r) is photographed with DES Deputy Director, Mr. Elroy Bryan (l).

(From left) Medalists in the Boys 11-Year Old High Jump Division 4 Competition, Romarco McKenzie (TMPS), Courtney Gayle (RBPS) and Nathaniel Haughton (RBPS) were photographed with MOE Acting Chief Of

Sir John A Cumber Primary School athlete Jonsby Barrios-Orellana anxiously waits to obtain the baton from teammate Razariah Jackson during the first leg of the Mixed 12 & under 800 Sprint Medley Relay

Prospect Primary School athletes pose with the championship trophy after being declared winner of the 2023 Inter-Primary School Sports. Also photographed are DES Deputy Director Mr. Elroy Bryan (r) an

Prospect Primary School was named Inter-Primary School Sports Champion on Friday (17 March) afternoon after amassing 416.33 points at the three-day athletic meet held by the Department of Education Services (DES) in partnership with the Department of Sports (DOS) at the Truman Bodden Sports Complex.    

Defending champion Red Bay Primary School (RBPS) scored 362.50 to place second, while Joanna Clarke Primary retained its third-place spot with 258.33 points. 

The North East Schools and Cayman Academy placed first and second in the small schools category while Red Bay & Sir John A. Cumber Primary Schools tied for first place in the cheerleading contest.

The head of the Local Organising Committee, Mr. Elroy Bryan, congratulated Prospect Primary on its victory. He added, “I am extremely impressed with the high athletic skill demonstrated by the student-athletes over the past few days and look forward to their continued growth and development.”

Mr. Bryan also thanked all of those who contributed to the success of the schools’ sporting meet.

Theoline McCoy Primary School’s Oshawney Johnson was named Division Four Champion, and Victor Ludorum (overall individual high point winner male), having won the long jump, 100-metre dash, 200-metre run and 800-metre run.

Victrix Ludorum (overall individual high point winner female) went to Cayman Prep & High School student and Division Five Girls Champion Sereniti Rankin. She won the 100-metre dash, 200-metre run, 800-metre Run, and the Division Five Girls’ High Jump competition.

Other exceptional athletes included Division One champions Jenecia Powell and Jevon Tulloch, both of Prospect Primary and Division Two champions Kemla Campbell (Triple C School) and Jaevion Barrett (Cayman Academy). Ali Christian (JCPS), Victoria King (PPS) and Aiden Wilson (Sir John A Cumber Primary School) were declared Division Three champions. At the same time, Daniqua Howell (PPS) was named Division Four Girls Champion and Nathan Ashman, Boys’ Champion for Division Five.

Notable attendees included Minister for Youth, Sports, Culture and Heritage, Hon. Bernie Bush, who officially opened day three of the meet and Ministry of Education Acting Chief Officer Ms. Lyneth Monteith, who delivered remarks on behalf of Education Minister, Hon. Juliana O’Connor-Connolly.

Minister for Tourism & Transport, Hon. Kenneth Bryan and Director of Sports, Mr. Kurt Hyde assisted with medal presentations.

To learn more about other DES programmes and activities, visit the Department of Education’s website at https://schools.edu.ky/Pages/Home.aspx .

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs