91 F Clouds
Monday, Jul 22 2024, 11:52 AM
Close Ad
Back To Listing

Red Bay Primary School (RBPS) Retains Title as Inter-Primary Sports Champion

Sports 22 Apr, 2022 Follow News

Athletes compete in the 800 m - Boys 12 and Under-800M Run Open

Athletes from Joanna Clarke Primary School (Yuvraj Campbell-Graham) and Red Bay Primary School (Division 2 Champion Nathaniel Haye) battle it out during the Division 2 boys 100 dash.

(From left) Medalists in the Boys 12 and Under-800M Run Open, Teddy West (CIS), Roscoe Newman(CIS) and Donardo Henry are photographed with Minister of Education Hon. Juliana O’Connor-Connolly.

(From left) MoE Chief Officer Ms. Cetonya Cacho is photographed with medalists in the Girls 9 Year Olds 100 Meter Dash Division 2 Sophie Lyne (CIS), Victoria King (PPS) and Jacquelyn Douglas (TMPS).

(From left) DES Director Mr. Mark Ray is photographed with medalists in the Boys 12 Year Olds 100 Meter Dash Division 5 event- Donardo Henry (CPHS), Keion McLean (FBCS) and Josiah Ebanks (Cayman Academy).

Victoria King (PPS) listens for the starter’s signal at the start of the Girls 10 & Under 4x100 Meter Relay Junior event.

Toni Wagner (Cayman Prep & High School) competes in the Girls Div.4 High Jump Final.

Students from Prospect Primary School proudly display their school’s flag during the 2022 Inter-Primary Schools Sports Meet opening parade.

(From left) Medalists in the Boys 11 Year Olds High Jump Division 4 event- Malique Brandon (JCPS); Issac Williams (JCPS) and Jahdon Bodden- (SJACPS) are photographed with Director of Sports Mr. Kurt Hyde.

Red Bay Primary School (RBPS), on Friday afternoon (8 April), amassed 284.9 points to retain its title as Inter-Primary Schools Sports Champion for the fifth consecutive year.

Prospect Primary School (PPS) placed second with 272 points, while third place in the three-day athletic meet, held at the Truman Bodden Sports Complex, went to Joanna Clarke Primary School (JCPS) with 232.5 points.

Cayman Academy and Triple C School placed first and second in the small schools’ category.

Head of the Local Organising Committee, Mrs. Gloria Bell, congratulated Red Bay Primary on its victory, adding, “Throughout this year’s meet we have witnessed exciting performances from our student-athletes in the culmination of primary schools’ physical education syllabus. I am pleased to see the athletic prowess and spirit of camaraderie that our young participants have demonstrated throughout the meet and look forward to their continued growth and development.”

Director of Sports Mr. Kurt Hyde expressed his delight at the opportunity to partner with the Department of Education Services (DES) for the Inter-Primary/Secondary School competitions. “He stated, “The collaboration between DES & DOS makes these spectacular sporting events possible. A lot of work happens behind the scenes, but we welcome it, as these two events allow our kids to compete and showcase their talents.”

Mr. Hyde thanked all of those who contributed to the success of the schools’ sporting meets, describing Mrs. Bell and School Sports Coordinator (DOS) Ms. Cherry Whittaker’s efforts as ‘outstanding’.

First Baptist Christian School’s Keion McLean was named Division Five Champion, and Victor Ludorum (overall individual high point winner male), having won the 100-metre dash, the 200-metre run and the 800-metre run.

Victrix Ludorum (overall individual high point winner female) went to George Town Primary School student and Division Four Girls Champion Jeleah Maize. She won the 100-metre dash, 200-metre run, 800-metre Run and the Division Five Girls’ Long Jump competition.

Other exceptional athletes included Division One champions Jazmyn Beckford (JCPS) and Seth Mason (PPS), as well as Division Two champions Sophie Lyne (Cayman International School), Aiden Wilson (Sir John A Cumber Primary) and Nathaniel Haye (RBPS). Prospect Primary’s Jahriah Ngyou and Theoline McCoy Primary’s Oshawney Johnson were declared Division Three champions. Cayman Prep & High School’s Zara Maharaj and Joanna Clarke Primary School’s Kobi Sloely were named Champion Girl and Boy for Division Four.

Notable attendees included Minister for Education Hon. Juliana O’Connor-Connolly, who officially opened day one of the meet. Parliamentary Secretary in the Ministries of Housing, Transport and Labour, Mr. Dwayne Seymour, provided remarks and DES Director Mr. Mark Ray gave the welcome address.

Also in attendance were Ministry of Education Chief Officer Ms. Cetonya Cacho, Deputy Chief Officer Ms. Lyneth Monteith, and Director of Sports Mr. Kurt Hyde, all of whom assisted with medal presentations.

To learn more about other DES programmes and activities, visit the Department of Education’s website at https://schools.edu.ky/Pages/Home.aspx.

Comments (0)

We appreciate your feedback. You can comment here with your pseudonym or real name. You can leave a comment with or without entering an email address. All comments will be reviewed before they are published.

* Denotes Required Inputs